Jewelry Education



The Mohs scale ranks gemstone hardness on a scale of 1 (softest) to 10 (hardest). The Mohs hardness of a mineral is determined by observing whether its surface is scratched by a substance of known or defined hardness.


DIAMONDS are the hardest gemstone in nature and rated 10 in mohs scale.



(MOHS SCALE: 7 / 7.5)

Tourmaline is a dark colored stone with deep pink to
redcolors. Stones made with tourmaline are utterly
unique, their deep ruby color sets them on fire!




(MOHS SCALE: 7.5 / 8)
Emeralds are all about their vibrant green color. An emerald
is a classic choice for an engagement ring as it contains many
exciting inclusions, or rather beautiful imperfections which
make each stone truly one-of-a-kind.




Ruby is the gemstone of queens, a rich warm red with a fiery
glow within. Rubies glow an with intense color and have
long been associated with love, the perfect gemstone for an
engagement ring or wedding band.




(MOHS SCALE: 7.5 / 8)
Morganite is a beautiful blush pink gemstone from the Beryl
family which includes emerald and aquamarine. Morganites
make for a gorgeous alternative to a traditional diamond in
an engagement ring with their champagne sparkle.





(MOHS SCALE: 6 / 6.5)
This gem bears its name from its blue colour which
reflects a silvery play of tones that appear like phases
of the moon when light shines on it.




(MOHS SCALE: 7.5 / 8)
Aquamarine is a sparkling, light blue coloured
gemstone. Aquamarine is 7.5-8 on the Mohs scale,
which means that it has a high level of toughness and
this generally protects it from scratches.




Citrine is the golden variety of quartz. Its attractive
colour, plus the durability and affordability it shares
with most other quartz stones, makes it the top
selling golden gem.